Versace for H&M: Gorgeous, but too good for everyday women?

After drooling over the H&M website last night, I am a little disappointed. I searched through all of the different designs of dresses, jackets, tops, vests, etc. and swooned over this leather jacket.

Versace for H&M, $299

If you’re a fan of my Facebook page, Phoebe’s Fab Fix, then you may have seen my post about it. But this morning as I’m scrolling through my Twitter feed, I came across this Huffington Post article.

“Donatella will likely not approve shooting the collection on real women.”
H&M publicist

The NY Daily News was supposed to have a shoot featuring three models, all of which are young New Yorkers. Only 1 of the 3 models got the approval. The shoot was cancelled and now the article will feature the three models in holiday cocktail attire.

The problem is, Donatella Versace specifically stated that the H&M Versace line was for the H&M consumer (likely, young, real women). Why can’t they model it? It makes me rethink whether or not I should purchase any pieces from this line. Versace is a high end fashion house, but H&M lines are supposed to make it so that something so high end can become a reality to others.

What are your thoughts?

Also, Tom Ford is rumored to be the next designer for H&M.

Best,
Phoebe xo

14 thoughts on “Versace for H&M: Gorgeous, but too good for everyday women?

  1. I think its ok. Branding can be a delicate thing. She doesn’t want to sacrifice the Versace brand for a collaboration with H&M, but she still wants to collaborate. If anything, I think it helps H&M.

    Besides, H&M models aren’t really “real” women anyways!

    I think that leather jacket is pretty awesome!

    • Thanks for the feedback, Taylor! I know, but the models aren’t H&M models either. In my opinion it would be nice to see real people featured in the article for NY Daily since that is who is going to be purchasing the clothes. I like to see high end looks from the runway used realistically for everyday wear. (Even though the H&M line is pretty realistic as it is! lol) I understand what you mean though. xo

  2. I can see valid points to both of your points of view. I think most of the designers have Donatella’s mindset! It’ll be a madhouse trying to get the jacket but if you love it don’t let that stop you from getting it : )

    • I feel like that is what H&M is about – bringing trends to real people. I’m still debating with myself on whether to purchase anything, but I may not have enough in the bank to anyways! It may be cheaper but still pricey 😉 xo

  3. Hey Phoebe!

    Great post. I really like the jacket. To address your comment, I think that’s the nature of the fashion industry. Is it fair, absolutely not. But as some have mentioned, it’s also part of Versace’s branding.

    • Yes. I know most designers would probably do the same thing. I just imagine that the models that were chosen and denied were probably still thin and beautiful, but not stick thin with mile-long legs and prominent cheek bones. One of the most debatable topics in the fashion industry! xo

  4. GREAT post. First let me say the jacket is awesome, and my friend Evan got it. Now, he did wait in line starting at 3:00 a.m. I was supposed to go too, but I decided to sleep. http://twitpic.com/7gef7e

    Now, about your question. I don’t think they should go with “real people” in the ads and stories…. I think you have to go with a professional for branding reasons. I just feel bad for the two poor gals who got passed over by a legend. How hurtful. They should not have ever been set up for that.

  5. I completely agree. I am so tired of seeing models who are six feet tall and weigh the same amount as me who is 5’2. I am SO tired of not seeing the average girl wearing something totally gorgeous, you know?

Leave a Reply

