Designer Shades: Worth the Splurge

I received my very first pair of designer sunglasses when I was 16 years old. This may seem young, but they were a gift. I may sound spoiled – well I kind of was, by my grandmother anyways. They were a pair of white D&G’s with small silver studs with the D&G logo on the side. I had to have them. I requested them as a gift because they were way out of my price range. Most of my family members rolled their eyes when I made a request for designer shades. My grandmother didn’t. She was always about making me happy. I ripped open the decorative Christmas wrapping paper and sure enough, there was the D&G box.

Now, the styles have changed a little. I was younger and white seemed like the hottest color to me at the time. Little did I know that this would be the same pair that the rapper Soulja Boy would end up showcasing in his hit music video “Crank That” in 2007. But these glasses lasted me. I wore them everywhere. I kept them in the case, and I used the microfiber cloth to clean them. I still have the pair to this day.

I had found a new appreciation for sunglasses. I then ended up buying a pair of white Arnettes for my high school sweetheart. I continued on with purchasing the designer brands until college. I was perusing a Sunglass Hut near my university with my mother. I was looking for a pair of iconic Ray-Ban Wayfarers, while helping my mother find a cool pair too. The manager noticed that I had an eye for designer. She asked me if I would be interested in a part-time job, and two weeks later I was a sales associate. I am no longer a SGH associate, but I would consider myself to be an “experienced eyewear consultant” – or something of that sort. It has inspired me to start this blog. I hope to spark your interest in new brands or styles that you wouldn’t normal splurge or take a fashion risk on. Check back for future updates!

3 thoughts on “Designer Shades: Worth the Splurge

  1. I TOTALLY agree! I worked at a high end eyeglasses boutique for years and it gave me a love and respect for designer shades and glasses. It is totally worth it!

  2. 16 doesn’t make you spoilt, i got my first at 13 but i guess it was cause my dad is an optomertrist and can get a good deal. I got wayfarers and clubmasters, they are SO worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

